Skip to content

Green may be a hot issue today – but cold comfort for elements of our society

February 27, 2012

We now face a 30 per cent Green Tax to do ‘our bit’ for the global environment, which includes more wind farms, but I am in no doubt that this is dragging the old and vulnerable into fuel poverty – with examples known to me of ladies in their eighties having to sit in the armchairs at home wrapped in a blanket with hot water bottles to back and front – rather than put their electric heater on or make a fire up.

 But, for one of my residents who emailed me and I quote:

   ‘I am at my wits end as to how to keep warm in the recent cold spell and I cannot cut back any more and I love where I live’

 After my visit and in conjunction with Clive Gibbins of LDC he swiftly put together a package of partners to resolve the resident’s situation.

 Thanks go to Pete Lovell of   http://beatcold.org.uk/ and of course Clive Gibbins:

 I will leave you with a quote from that famous Dutchman Van Gogh:

  

“There may be a great fire in our soul, yet no one ever comes to warm himself at it, and the passers-by see only a wisp of smoke.”

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

